Twitter Facebook LinkedIn
Ph: 913-338-3377 | Contact


121st_IAOM Conference Expo Logo_COLOR LARGE

*Nominations solicited for Milling Operative of the Year

Nominations are being accepted until February 15 for the 2017 “IAOM Milling Operative of the Year” award, which recognizes excellent performance by a miller.

Established in 1986 by Milling & Baking News, sister publication of World Grain, the award will be presented in April to the practicing milling operative who has made the most significant contribution to the progress of a plant, a company and the industry from an operating point of view.

The 32nd annual “Milling Operative of the Year” award will be presented on April 13 at the IAOM Banquet and Awards Ceremony of the 121st annual International Association of Operative Millers Conference and Expo, April 10-14, in New Orleans, Louisiana. The winner will receive an inscribed plaque, and a scholarship will be established in the winner’s name at Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kansas, U.S.

John “Dub” Miner, Shawnee Milling Company, Shawnee, Oklahoma, was the recipient of the 2016 award.

Other recent winners include:

  • John Hultman, Ardent Mills, Decatur, Alabama, US, in 2015
  • Domenico Santoianni, ADM, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, in 2014
  • Tim Carroll, Pendleton Flour Mills, Blackfoot, Idaho, US, in 2013
  • Ken Ball, Star of the West Milling, Quincy, Michigan, US, in 2012
  • Scott Martin, ConAgra Mills, Omaha, Nebraska, US in 2011
  • Emil Kolb, Cargill, Minneapoils, Minnesota, US in 2010
  • Greg Ball, King Milling Company, Lowell, Michigan, US, in 2009
  • Ted Korolchuk, ConAgra Mills, Omaha, Nebraska, US, in 2008
  • Michael Wade Blalock, Milner Milling Company Inc., Barnesville, Georgia, US, in 2007
  • Todd Peterson, North Dakota Mill, Grand Forks, North Dakota, US, in 2006
  • Everett Abercrombie, Horizon Milling, Chattanooga, Tennessee, US, in 2005
  • Mike Long, Bay State Milling Company, Quincy, Massachusetts, US, in 2004
  • Bob Reid, The Mennel Milling Company, Fostoria, Ohio, US, in 2003
  • Kevin Doehring, American Italian Pasta Co., Excelsior Springs, Missouri, US, in 2002
  • Neil Mathieson, Robin Hood Multifoods Inc., Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada, in 2001

Nominations should be submitted by February 15, in a summary of not more than two pages to:

IAOM Nominating Committee
c/o IAOM Headquarters Office
12351 W. 96th Terrace, Suite 100
Lenexa, KS 66215
Email:  re: Milling Operative of the Year Award
Fax: +1 913-338-3553